[Skip to Content]

Welcome to the 2022 AASHTO Awards!

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Awards are an opportunity to recognize colleagues and peers who are achieving great things in the transportation field. Each year AASHTO honors individuals and transportation departments for their contributions to the transportation community through a series of awards. Criteria for Alfred E. Johnson, Thomas H. MacDonald, Francis B. Francois, and President's Transportation Awards can be found here. The nomination period will close on April 22, 2022.

The Alfred E. Johnson Achievement Award was created in 1973 and honors A. E. Johnson, one of the Executive Directors of the association, for his many contributions to management in the field of highway engineering.  This award is authorized to be presented at the annual conference of the association to the nominee selected by the award committee as the person judged as rendering the most outstanding service in the field of engineering or management, which can cover both technical and administrative aspects.

The Thomas H. MacDonald Memorial Award was established in 1957 in recognition of the outstanding achievements of the late Thomas H. MacDonald, chief of the Bureau of Public Roads in the fields of highway administration, engineering and research, this award is authorized to be presented at the association’s annual conference.

The President's Transportation Awards, nominations can be made by the Chief Executive Officers of the member departments or by the Chairpersons of the AASHTO Standing Committees “based on the nominee(s) having performed exemplary service during the year furthering the transportation activities of his/her member department or committee which has, or potentially could have, a salutary impact on transportation nationwide or on a regional basis.”

To submit a nomination please click here. If you have previously submitted a nomination you can use your previous account information to log in. If you haven't submitted a nomination you will need to create an account.

The Francis B. Francois Award is an annual Award for Innovation, presented to one AASHTO member state, enabling that state to fund a $10,000 graduate fellowship at a state university of the winner's choice. Innovation is defined as something worthwhile that establishes, increases, or enhances value to the public. Please click here to submit an application.

A complete list of AASHTO Awards can be found here.